Ski Jumping
Time [Torino]* Event
6:00 p.m. Men's Normal Hill

Speed Skating
Time [Torino]* Event
3:30 p.m. Men's 5000m Final

Superted
02-10-2006, 05:07 PM
It's my first time watching the winter olympics, so I haven't a clue what half of those games are. I guess I need to do some wiki'ing, but I'll try to watch what I can on interactive TV. Did you see the opening ceremony?

Galleleo
02-10-2006, 07:29 PM
omg, the 5000m men final is gonna be sooo good. You have Hedrick, de Jong, Kramer and Verheijen as top fav. Kramer having the world record atm, wich he got in a race against Verheijen, and before Kramer Hedrick had the world record. Then you have Davis as a dangerous outsider, tho I expect him not to play that big of a role and moreso on the 1500 and 1000 metres.

Then you have outsiders like Fabris (Italy) riding for his own crowd of course, and ervik (norwegian) who, if he has his day can surely be very dangerous, and then you have 2 more norwegians who could be outsiders for bronze, but I don't see them competing for gold or silver (their names slipped my mind).

11th pair: Verheijen (nl) vs. Kramer (nl)
12th pair: de Jong (nl) vs. Hedrick (us)
13th pair: Dankers (can) vs. Davis (us)
14th pair: Ervik (nor) vs. Fabris (it)

Speedskating is like a huge sport over here in the Netherlands, and very likely the only sport we have any medal chances in. So I know alot about it, and it's also about the only winter olympic sport I know anything about. I'll be following as much as possible tho.

I expect the winning time to be around 6:10:00 wich would be really fast. World Record is somewhere around 6:08:00. But that was in Heereveen, wich is prob the fastest low lands icering there is. This one is slower, anywhere between 6:10:00 and 6:15:00 will give you a very good shot at the medals.

Da1andonly
02-11-2006, 09:45 AM
Hannu Manninen is a fuck.

Galleleo
02-11-2006, 12:54 PM