Newbie here, with {probably} obvious questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie here, with {probably} obvious questions

Okay, first, what *is* the TWL, exactly? How does it work? I do not belong to a squad and have no intention of becoming part of one; do I have any business here? I am assuming that the TWD somehow runs and maintains ratings of "skills" of individual players compared to others. I have to admit, for all the nice-looking code, the main page doesn't seem to have much info for someone who just wandered in from the interstellar void.

Regards, and please don't fry me to a crisp,

Quinch

{edited... TWL, not TWD. I'm an idiot. Excuse me.}
    "You're blue. You're not standing still. I'm sorry, but you're dead."

"What I wouldn't give for X-radar on a Spider..."

Both TWL and TWD are for squads.

TWD is basically a rating system for squads. Squads play in and their rating can goes up and down based on how they do. But it's more of just for fun and to get some practice in for the real thing, which is TWL.

TWL is run like any professional sport, with a regular season and playoffs. There are set matches, rather than just play whenever like twd, and only the returning squads from last TWL and the top ranked new squads in TWD will be allowed to join.

TWD is new and, while very impressive, TWL has been going on for a few years and is considered the one that counts for the squads that care about leagues.

Comment

Oh... so essentially, as someone who's not merely squadless but actually plays on a solo frequency at every opportunity, I am definitely in the wrong place?

Comment

Yes, since it's designed around squad competition

Comment

For solo competition, your best bet is to ?go elim or ?go baseelim if you didn't know already. Elim and baseelim have individual rankings which can be viewed from the main site www.trenchwars.org.

But be forwared, both these arenas can become considerably lame.
          Jav Guide: Jav Guide