Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Getting a new gfx card - nVidia or Radeon?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting a new gfx card - nVidia or Radeon?

Guys, I'm thinking about upgrading my current geforce3 to something a little better. I dont want to spend more than 120 bucks for the upgrade (because i am a very poor college student and need the money for food).

So which should i get?

Radeon 9000 pro 128mb DDR (from ebay @79.99) by sapphire not Ati
    nVidia Ti 4400 128mb DDR (from ebay @ 119.99)

oh, btw my mobo can only support up to 4x AGP, so none of that new 8x stuff is going to work for me. Basically i want all the video acceleration without the fancy DVI and the TV out stuff.
    TelCat> i am a slut not a hoe
    TelCat> hoes get paid :(
    TelCat> i dont

I've had a geforce 2 GTS since 2000 and it has been simply beautiful. I have yet to play a game that it can't handle perfectly. They are probably available at a good price now. The GTS models rock your socks!

I recently bought an ATI radeon 9500 pro, with NO END OF COMPATIBILITY ISSUES WITH GAMES, such as ugly artifacts and suboptimal performance. (simcity 4000 mainly).
    'vet' is the new 'newb'.
    sit ez vet, sit.

Comment

ATI 9000 Pro

i was making that same choice several months ago - i ended up going with ATI

although, i chose 64MB over 128MB because, as surprising as it may be, the 128MB has very little performance edge over its 64MB counterpart, and is only worth it if the price difference is negligeble

see here for more details
      Everything is funny as long as it's happening to someone else.

Comment

Get a 9500, switch the drivers to make it a 9700. The GEforce FX cards I don't think are worth it but Ati is comming out with a 9800 pro if its not already out. Or if your really low on money go for the Ti series.

Comment

Re: ATI 9000 Pro

Originally posted by dare
          i was making that same choice several months ago - i ended up going with ATI