Resolution problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Resolution problem

Earlier today I was able to run Continuum @ 1240 x 800, but now for some reason whenever I try and run it at that res., it crashes back to my desktop. Now I'm only able to run it @ 800 x 600, and I noticed it severely reduces the chances of me scoring a radar kill, and its starting to piss me off. Does anybody know what refresh rate I should use to fix this? Or any other alternatives? My monitor is kinda ancient, so I'm afraid to mess with it without the proper know-how.

Aww c'mon guys lol, I know you people can see this. Help a brotha out!

Comment

If no one else can help you , you can use System restore if you made some kind of modification that is now its effecting your game play. Sorry i'm not an expert on monitors.

Comment

1st> Its not 1280x800... its 1280x1024
        2nd> What type of hardware you have? Can your computer and graphics card handle that rez?

3rd> Not sure if SS uses DirectX, maybe get a directx update..hmm
        4th> If you have the proper graphics drivers, you should know what your monitor is capable of.... and never set higher than that.

5th>Maybe reset and try again?

Now if make it to 1280x1024....and its jittering...non-smooth graphics...then do this:

Go into option settings... graphics..etc..

-Turn audio quality down to 11Khz (this might help a bit with cpu usage)

-Turn all the fancy graphi effects off.. like bullet trails..etc.. just think common sense.... eliminate effects you don't really need.

-Store some common used graphics into MEMORY, this helps too.

-Also there is an option SOFTWARE EMULATION, not 100% sure, but I think it uses CPU to do graphic effects, instead of gfx card chip, this might also help.

With these tweaks, I was able to run Trenchwars in 1280x1024 resolution with a Pentium 1 (133mhz) 32megsRAM with a Matrox Mystique (4meg) gfx card using Win98... worked ok...