Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 35 of 35

Thread: Use wireless? READ THIS

  1. #21
    Ewan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, England Hair: Cut
    Posts
    4,300
    Seal, you don't want to start the wireless search until Continuum has closed, do I don't really get how your batch file would work.
    USS Banana after years of superior jav play has amassed 17999 kills, he is 1 kill away from 18k, Type ?go Javs FOR A GAME OF HUNT (no scorereset) -Kim
    ---A few minutes later---
    9:cool koen> you scorereseted
    9:Kim> UM
    9:Kim> i didn't
    9:cool koen> hahahahahahaha
    9:ph <ZH>> LOOOOL
    9:Stargazer <ER>> WHO FUCKING SCORERESET
    9:pascone> lol?

  2. #22
    tigga
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    617

    re

    ewan, im the head computer so i use direct from modem but when i have my wireless router on, it keeps dcing me every 5 minutes and i keep having to restart my wireless router, but when i do not have my router plugged in and just use it straight from the modem, I am fine. Any help in this department?

  3. #23
    oo-mox Saturn V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    965
    I'm considering getting a wireless ethernet bridge for my Vista box to handle the problem and rid myself of batch files. Anyone have any experience with bridges?
    Ferengi Rule of Acquisition #98: Every man has his price.

  4. #24
    Dor firn i guinar FarScape's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    595
    there is a nice guide about windows XP services that can be shut down. it save some resources and annoying stuff. I do it every time I install a fresh windows after a format.

    do some check about windows xp services in google and twick it a bit

  5. #25
    Bad_Shot
    Guest

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by Ewan View Post
    I'm posting it here, as it's not really a post asking for help, more dishing it out. Also, like me, the people who this is aimed at probably passed the problem off as natural wireless lag, and so wouldn't bother looking for a fix in the ?help forum.

    While at University, I use wireless to connect to the internet. Every now and again, it cuts me off for a couple of seconds which means I cannot play TWJD, TWDD and sometimes TWBD 50/50 whether I lagout). This happens in any online games and I assumed it was just the way wireless is and grew to accept it.

    While playing Counter-Strike yesterday I decided to time the interval between the spikes, and it turned out they happened every 60 seconds. A bit of googling led me to realise it's actually a Windows issue. Stupidly, Windows automatically searches for new wireless networks every 60 seconds, causing these lag spikes. I've disabled it on my computer, and I am at 0.1 0.1 ploss instead of the 1.5 0.1 I'd be at before. Also, playing Counter-Strike for a few hours yesterday I experienced one single lag spike, instead of one every minute.

    How to disable in XP:
    One way around it is to use the third party wireless management software that came with your card, this isn't that ideal though as they tend to be pretty crap.
    If you want to stick with the windows software:
    It's simply a case of disabling the Wireless Zero Configuration service while you're playing. To do this, start menu -> run type in services.msc, find Wireless Zero Configuration, right click and select "Stop".
    Your wireless connection will remain connected while the service is stopped. If it disconnects (say you reboot your router w/e), you will not be able to reconnect until you restart the service.

    How to disable in Vista
    The WZC service is tacked in with the other wireless stuff in Vista, so you can't get around it by using the 3rd party software that came with your wireless card.
    Instead, use this file. Use the "Auto Off.bat" to disable the wireless config. And the "Auto On.bat" to turn it back on again. REMEMBER to turn it back on before turning your computer off, otherwise it won't connect to a wireless network next time you boot until you turn it on. You will have to run both .bat files as Administrator. Also, if you want to see what's inside them, simply right click -> edit. This is for all you paranoid of malicious code ;P.

    Anyway, hope this helps.

    Some people are stupid and wouldn't think to try the run thing. Also, stickied.- Face
    the link isnt working for me, its just taking me to the filefront homepage.:crying:

  6. #26
    GObama Money's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    7,140
    google it

  7. #27
    GObama Money's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    7,140
    Quote Originally Posted by Saturn V View Post
    I'm considering getting a wireless ethernet bridge for my Vista box to handle the problem and rid myself of batch files. Anyone have any experience with bridges?
    macinac

  8. #28
    !scorereset Carburetor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    in ?go javs
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation

    Vista user's use this file. Use the "Auto Off.bat" to disable the wireless config. and auto_on.bat to enable. but since this link no longer exists im showing how to make it your self.
    Step one: open notepad, not wordpad or microsoft word.

    Step two:copy and paste the following,
    @ECHO Off
    ECHO.********************
    ECHO Carburetor is God =]
    ECHO.********************
    netsh wlan set autoconfig enabled=no interface="wireless network connection"
    ECHO.
    ECHO.Yeah, i Pwn =]
    ECHO.
    PAUSE
    CLS
    EXIT

    Step Three: save as Auto_On.bat make sure the extension is not .txt do this by changing the "save type" to all types.
    CONGRATS. you made your first batch file.

    Step four:after saving the first one and trying it to make sure it works, right click the the file and change enabled=yes to enabled=no, then resave it as Auto_Off.bat
    CONGRATS. you made your second batch file.

    if it does not work, it is most likely that your UAC is activated, theirs two ways by this, one:disableing it by going to start>control panel>user account>turn user account control on or off.
    second way is by using a "runas" command in the batch which is near impossible unless u want to download programming tools but might be possible if u dont have a password, if u want to solve it this way and need help, ask me and ill see what i can do, but i choose to disable my UAC.
    another reason this wouldnt work is if your not signed on as administrator.

    Also another problem might be you changed the name of the wireless network connection, if this is the case just simply, input the correct name, if u need help to find it, i found it by opening command prompt and typing "netsh" then "wlan set autoconfig" it should be set as the example. if not then ill find a solution.

    If you need any help either ask me in game or reply, ill help you as soon as possible.:grin:
    Last edited by Carburetor; 11-05-2008 at 05:45 AM.

  9. #29
    Perverted Hermit Spikester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    681
    Quote Originally Posted by Carburetor View Post
    Vista user's use this file. Use the "Auto Off.bat" to disable the wireless config. and auto_on.bat to enable. but since this link no longer exists im showing how to make it your self.
    Step one: open notepad, not wordpad or microsoft word.

    Step two:copy and paste the following,
    @ECHO Off
    ECHO.********************
    ECHO Carburetor is God =]
    ECHO.********************
    netsh wlan set autoconfig enabled=no interface="wireless network connection"
    ECHO.
    ECHO.Yeah, i Pwn =]
    ECHO.
    PAUSE
    CLS
    EXIT

    Step Three: save as Auto_On.bat make sure the extension is not .txt do this by changing the "save type" to all types.
    CONGRATS. you made your first batch file.

    Step four:after saving the first one and trying it to make sure it works, right click the the file and change enabled=yes to enabled=no, then resave it as Auto_Off.bat
    CONGRATS. you made your second batch file.

    if it does not work, it is most likely that your UAC is activated, theirs two ways by this, one:disableing it by going to start>control panel>user account>turn user account control on or off.
    second way is by using a "runas" command in the batch which is near impossible unless u want to download programming tools but might be possible if u dont have a password, if u want to solve it this way and need help, ask me and ill see what i can do, but i choose to disable my UAC.
    another reason this wouldnt work is if your not signed on as administrator.

    Also another problem might be you changed the name of the wireless network connection, if this is the case just simply, input the correct name, if u need help to find it, i found it by opening command prompt and typing "netsh" then "wlan set autoconfig" it should be set as the example. if not then ill find a solution.

    If you need any help either ask me in game or reply, ill help you as soon as possible.:grin:
    Who are you and where did you come from? Just being curious B)
    Erathia> IF YOU SPIDERS CONTINUE CAMPING I WILL BAN YOU AND CALL IT RACISM

    SeRtIfi> What's the point of going out with friends everyday just to hang out when I meet them in school and sometimes on weekends anyways, if I can play in SubSpace with them?

  10. #30
    !scorereset Carburetor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    in ?go javs
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Spikester View Post
    Who are you and where did you come from? Just being curious B)
    just a good samartian wanting to help people out so the eating my damn bombs in javs.
    did i do something wrong?

  11. #31
    I make peace at all cost Peace_Maker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    WA, USA
    Posts
    190
    Can you edit that so it does not have the extra stuff in there please? And where should this be saved?

    Edit: Two separate files right? Do both of them have the same info but named different?

  12. #32
    !scorereset Carburetor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    in ?go javs
    Posts
    7

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by Peace_Maker View Post
    Can you edit that so it does not have the extra stuff in there please? And where should this be saved?

    Edit: Two separate files right? Do both of them have the same info but named different?

    @echo on
    netsh wlan set autoconfig enabled=no interface="wireless network connection"


    save this on as auto_off.bat
    save it anywhere its easy to access.
    its not the same in it, either u disable or enable it where it says "enabled=no"
    no is disabled and yes is enabled.
    make sure the extension is .bat and not .txt
    can you belive kim doesnt understand this? geez

  13. #33
    Yeah! Science Bitch! gran guerrero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    A meth lab
    Posts
    9,536
    can u update this for windows 7?

    All good things must come to an end.

  14. #34
    SUH Slum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    252
    Gran.
    1. Control Panel > Administrative Tools
    2. Click Services and scroll down to WLAN AutoConfig
    3. x2 Click WLAN AutoConfig & select Manual in Startup Type
    4. ok.

    TWLJ Season 13 Runner Up (Boss)
    TWLJ Season 15 Hit Allstar
    TWDT-J 2012 Champ

    TWDT-D 2014 Champ

  15. #35
    Yeah! Science Bitch! gran guerrero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    A meth lab
    Posts
    9,536
    should I change the wlan autoconfig back to automatic or is that picture just for reference to what I'm suppose to look at?

    All good things must come to an end.

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless Wireless Wireless internet is the fu-u-u-ture
    By Celestial Jeddak in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-28-2014, 07:59 PM
  2. Use wireless? READ THIS
    By Ewan in forum SSCU Trench Wars
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 11:14 AM
  3. Wireless help again please!
    By Dim in forum Help & Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 02:55 PM
  4. Thanks AT&T Wireless
    By Richard Creager in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-30-2003, 09:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •